Igniting potential in families, learning, and creativity with technology

Organic Growth

A significant moment in the life of the organization was the flow of invite emails from yammer once again. Eager to get more people in the online space I invited many of my associates who I considered more interested and open than not to social networking to join yammer. Many were only acquaintances for mine. I noticed that the level of participation was not what I anticipated and I began to consider the reasons why that might be the case. Taking my cues from face to face social networks, I recognized that growth and invitations are much more organic than I had originally thought. Perceived value from participation in the community is passed on through strong and meaningful ties. A remote or relationally less significant invite to a community or network carries at best an obligation and at worst an irritation.

Leave a Reply

